top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLauren Lehmann

The City Down Under

For the next stop on our list of trips to take we are going to head to Sydney Australia also called “The Emerald City.” Australia was one of my favorite vacations that we have ever taken. I could even tell you my favorite part was maybe the Steve Erwin reserve or getting to see the fireworks over the Sydney bridge there is just so much I couldn't just pick one.


While we were there it just so happened to be one of the busiest holidays they have which is New Year's Eve. Every year thousands of people come from all over Australia to watch the iconic fireworks over the Sydney bridge but what people don't tell you is that you would have to camp out all day just to get a good spot for the fireworks that happen at midnight. Even though we were there all day and I was so tired I wouldn’t have done anything else because it was amazing.


For as long as I can remember I have always been a huge fan of Steve Erwin and his family’s TV shows on the Discovery Channel. When I found out that we were going to the Steve Erwin reserve (Australia Zoo) I was more excited then I have ever been. There were so many things to do there I could just pick one to me my favorite. I have never realized how much I loved animals until I had gone to this place. Then the next day we went to a Koala and kangaroo reserve and I got to feed and hold them.




That last place that I would highly recommend going to is the Sydney Opera house. To be able to see this huge building up close was personal was absolutely breathtaking. It was amazing to be able to be so close to something that most people only get to see in pictures.



I can’t forget about one of the most important topics there is when talking about going somewhere….the food. Since I haven't been there for a long time and I don't remember some of the places that we ate. What I ended up doing was looking up what other people had recommended and one that I found was the Bistro Moncur on the website. When I looked at pictures online I thought it looked really cute and fun.


It is no secret that I have wanted to go back to Sydney but I thought that being able to give other people ideas of places that I have been so they could go to some of those places too. When I do go back to Australia one day I would love to visit these places again but I would also like to see new places to.

10 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page