top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLauren Lehmann

The Middle Kingdom

For this week’s trip, we are going to board a plane and head to Beijing China. China is in the southeastern part of Asia which is on the coastline of the Pacific Ocean. It also just so happens to be the third-largest country after Russia and Canada. While on this journey we are going to learn about the weather that you will find there, Some of there local Qua sine, and some places you might want to visit while you are there.


Always when planning a trip I have to look at what the weather is going to be like while we would be there. In Beijing China, the summers are usually hot and humid while the winters are freezing and dry. Year-round the temperatures varies from 17°F to 88°F. Another thing that you would also have to consider when traveling in China is there is a lot of pollution in the air and you might have to change your say plans if you are traveling in an area where that might be a problem.


Now for everybody’s favorite part of the blog….. The food. While researching some of the most famous places to get authentic Chinese food I found a website that not only told me that but also what are some of the things that people like from there. The first recommendation that they had was the Beijing roasted duck. When I had visited Beijing I remember sitting at the table with my family and some of our friends and the parents had ordered duck and they were trying to get me to try it. Of course, being the picky kid I was I refused but I do remember them saying how good it was. Looking back now I wish I would have tried it to just see what it was like and I encourage my readers to go out and try something out of there comfort zone.


Another common question that you might have when planning a vacation is what is there to do there. One of my favorite things that we did while we were there was being able to climb a portion of the Great Wall of China. Another thing we did while in China was go to the Forbidden City. In my opinion, I thought this was a really cool experience, especially at such a young age.



I really liked visiting both of these places because it is nice to see a little bit of another countries history. In China, there are so many other places that you can visit that have to do with there history and some that don’t. Some examples of those places are Kunming Lake, Yuanmingyuan Park, and the lama temple.



I would highly recommend people to visit any were in China. As a family, we had gone to Beijing with a few of our friends but I wouldn’t be opposed to going to another part of the country. I think that this country has a lot of cool places to visit not all of them being educational. I would recommend going to some of the temples and museums but also find someplace that you might not normally go to.

13 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page